StateBook International®

The Definitive Site for Site Selection

Otsego Now (County of Otsego IDA)

189 Main St, Suite 500
Oneonta, NY 13820
P: +1 607-267-4010

Welcome Message

Otsego County, New York is poised for an economic boom, and Otsego Now is the right partner to help it grow. With an innovative approach to development and deep roots in the community, Otsego Now is the central force working toward building a prosperous tomorrow while honoring our innovative yesterdays.


Otsego Now is made up of the County of Otsego Industrial Development Agency (COIDA), the Otsego County Capital Resource Corporation (OCCRC), and the Otsego Now Workforce Training Center. Otsego Now staff use these tools to carry out its mission to attract and retain business investment from established and growing firms that will bring high-paying skilled jobs to our community.

Mission Statement

Our mission is to act as the catalyst of economic transformation for the County, by promoting economic growth and advancing our region's prosperity by attracting and retaining businesses and improving infrastructure across a wide variety of areas.

EDO History and Background

While the IDA has existed since the 1970s, Otsego Now became the principal economic development organization in 2014.  Otsego Now is the umbrella organization that provides tax incentives, bond financing, workforce training and, increasingly, services to small businesses and entrepreneurs in Otsego County.  our team is nimble and aggressive, and our goal is to make growth in, or relocation to, the County as effortless and successful as possible.

EDO Leadership

Otsego Now Board of Directors
Devin Morgan - COIDA and OCCRC Chairman
James Jordan - COIDA and OCCRC Vice-Chairman
Joseph Bernier - COIDA and OCCRC Secretary
Craig Gelbsman - COIDA and OCCRC Assistant Secretary
Jeffrey C. Lord - COIDA and OCCRC Treasurer
Robert S. Hanft
Hugh Henderson
Richmond Hulse, Jr.
James Salisbury

Otsego Now Staff
Alexander "Sandy" Mathes, Jr. - CEO
Elizabeth A. Horvath - COO
Joseph Hughes - Administrative Director
Kurt A. Schulte - COIDA/OCCRC Counsel
A. Joseph Scott III - COIDA/OCCRC Counsel

EDO Partners

Otsego Now works with many different community organizations to ensure that we are able to keep a thumb on the pulse of the county. We are always open to exploring ways of working with these and other organizations to improve job opportunities and standards of living in our communities.

Here are some of the community leaders and organizations that we are proud to name as partners:

  • U.S. Senator Charles Schumer
  • U.S. Senator Kirsten Gillibrand
  • U.S. Representative Chris Gibson
  • NY State Senator James Seward
  • NY Assemblyman Bill Magee
  • Empire State Development
  • NY State Department of Agriculture and Markets
  • Appalachian Regional Commission, Southern Tier East New York
  • Center for Agricultural Development and Entrepreneurship (CADE)
  • Otsego County Board of Representatives
  • Otsego County Development Corporation
  • Otsego County Chamber of Commerce
  • Cooperstown Chamber of Commerce
  • SUNY Oneonta
  • Hartwick College
  • Destination Marketing Corporation of Otsego County/Otsego County Tourism
  • Greater Oneonta Economic Development Council (GO-EDC)
  • Citizens Voices
See also: Workforce + Training for additional partners

Organization Structure

Audit & Finance Committee:

  • Chair: Jeffrey Lord
  • Vice Chair: Jim Salisbury 
  • Members: Hugh Henderson, Sarah Harvey

Governance & Compliance Committee:

  • Chair: Rick Hulse
  • Vice Chair: Cheryl Robinson 
  • Members: Bob Hanft, Craig Gelbsman 

Project Oversight:

  • Chair: Bob Hanft
  • Vice Chair: Sarah Harvey
  • Members: Craig Gelbsman, Jeff Lord, Bob Hanft, Rich Hulse, Hugh Henderson, Cheryl Robinson, Jim Salisbury
Reorganization Committee: 
  • Chair: Cheryl Robinson 
  • Vice Chair: Craig Gelbsman 
  • Members: Jeff Lord, Rich Hulse, Sarah Harvey 

COIDA Board Chairman Devin Morgan will serve on all committees and attend committee meetings as needed or desired.

Full Board will meet on the 4th Thursday of each month, at 8 am 

All meetings, except Governance, which takes place at 22 Main Street, Cooperstown, NY, take place in the Boardroom of 189 Main St, 5th Floor, Oneonta, New York, unless otherwise noticed. 

Economic and Community Development Programs

Authentic Oneonta — Downtown Revitalization Initiative
After receiving a $10 million dollar grant from Governor Cumo for Downtown Revitalization, Oneonta has big plans for the big monies to spur economic development. Project plans consist of strengthening small business support by working with owners and tenants to renovate, improve and upgrade properties. While also creating new apartments and retail space by improving Mixed-Use development, in particular Westcott Parking Lot. Plans also include the expansion of Market Street opportunities, Mohawk Valley Food and Innovation Center, small scale manufacturing, incubator and makerspace. Not only is it Otsego Now mission to strengthen and expand downtown Oneonta, we want to connect it as well. Connect streets, public walkways, plazas, art, culture, and people.
Richfield and Richfield Springs Comprehensive Plan
The plan will lay the foundation for the future of the municipality with a community vision, updated zoning ordinances, and reviews of potential “shovel-ready” commerce park sites.
Agricultural Microenterprise Grant Program
Otsego Now has established the Agricultural Microenterprise Program, a $170,000 fund making available grants of up to $35,000 to assist small businesses (with five or fewer employees including all owners) in financing the costs of starting or expanding their agriculture-related business operations.
Hartwick College START-UP NY Development Site
Otsego Now is partnering with Hartwick College to fund an initial review of access options and energy needs for the school’s proposed START-UP NY development site.